Partisans’ Song to be sung in Yiddish & Maori in NZ Parliament

Wellington, New Zealand

In a world first, the Partisans’ Song will be sung in Yiddish and te reo Māori tomorrow, Thursday, 27 January in the NZ Parliament for International Holocaust Remembrance Day. It will be sung by a student of the NZ School of Music, Victoria University, Wellington, accompanied by a pianist.
View the Live Stream from 3.15 PM NZ time at
1:15pm Sydney & Melbourne; 12:45pm Adelaide; 12:15pm Brisbane; 10:15am Perth.
For other times check:
The translation into Maori is by Hēmi Kelly of AUT University.
The Partisans’ Song initiative is led by the WE ARE HERE! Foundation of Perth Australia.
Eli Rabinowitz & Asaela, daughter of Asael Bielski, in the Naliboki Forest, Belarus

On 30 October 2020 I posted:

We are pleased to advise that WE ARE HERE! Foundation has just had the Partisans’ Song translated into Māori – our 30th language!

Translated by Hēmi Kelly
Ngāti Maniapoto, Ngāti Tahu-Ngāti Whāoa
Lecturer | Te Ara Poutama, Faculty of Māori and Indigenous Development
Researcher | Te Ipukarea, The National Māori Language Institute
Auckland University of Technology (AUT)

Kaua rawa e mea ko te mate anahe tō huarahi,

Ahakoa āraia ana te kiko o te rangi e te pōuriuri,

Kei te tata mai te wā kua roa e tāria ana;

Ka rū te whenua i te takahi a ngā wae – ki te haka!

Mai i te whenua o te nīkau, ki te whenua kōkēi o te huka,

E haere nei mātou i runga i te kōharihari me te tiwhatiwha;

Katoa ngā wāhi i pipī ai ō mātou toto ki te papa,

Ka puāwai mai i reira tō mātou māia me tō mātou kaha.

Ka whiti tonu te rā i te ata, ka ao te rangi,

Katoa ngā raru o nanahi ka ngaro me te hoa kakari;

Ā, ki te roa te wā i mua i te aranga mai anō o te rā,

Tukua mā tēnei wai ngā tau e whakaaomārama.

I titongia ai tēnei waiata ki te toto, kaua ki te matā;

Ehara i te waiata e haria ai e ngā manu o ō te raumati rā

Engari nā te iwi i te kauhanga riri a Tū,

Tēnei waiata a mātou i hari ki te pū me te pohū.

Kaua rawa e mea ko te mate anahe tō huarahi,

Ahakoa āraia ana te kiko o te rangi e te pōuriuri,

Kei te tata mai te wā kua roa e tāria ana;

Ka rū te whenua i te takahi a ngā wae – ki te haka!

Learn The Partisans’ Song and Hirsh Glik

Learn The Partisans’ Song – tangential travel

Source: elirab.me/znk

Eli Rabinowitz CEO

WE ARE HERE! Foundation

Perth Australia

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back
%d bloggers like this: